My Media Diary and Me

I visit Reddit for basically all my news. Reddit is a customizable news aggregator website; you subscribe to the sections of the website you like, and from then on, posts submitted to those sections show up on the “front page” of the website. In addition, if you find you don’t like a particular section of Reddit you’re subscribed to (you’re subscribed by default to certain sections of the website like /r/technology), you can unsubscribe and thus hide their posts. While not all sections of Reddit are devoted solely to politics, news, or political news, many sections of Reddit besides /r/politics and /r/worldnews post links to political news articles. Sections of Reddit made for certain groups of people (e.g. LGBTQ people, people who live in a certain area, social justice-minded people, or people who believe certain things) will often post news stories relevant to them and their interests.

This ability to pick and choose which sections of the website you’d like to see arguably encourages you to make Reddit your own personal echo chamber. You can subscribe to /r/SandersForPresident and see many, many news articles about how Bernie Sanders is the second coming and how wonderful and honest and all-loving he is. You can subscribe to /r/atheism and see news articles about how religion encourages people to be angry and violent while atheism encourages people to be tolerant and loving. Or you can subscribe to /r/ainbow and look at news articles about how conservative people are trying to take LGBTQ people’s rights away. These are all sections of the website I’ve been subscribed to at one point or another (although I have unsubscribed from some); as you can see, my customizable echo chamber has a bit of a liberal bias.

However, in recent months, I’ve tried to stop having Reddit be my personal echo chamber. I now subscribe to /r/NeutralPolitics and /r/politicaldiscussion and have unsubscribed from the more echo chamber-y sections of the website (though I have to admit I still subscribe to /r/SandersForPresident). However, when I read discussions and news articles from /r/NeutralPolitics and /r/politicaldiscussion, I often find myself angrily clicking out of the article/discussion due to the fact that the article or the people commenting in the discussion disagree with me. Then I go back to /r/SandersForPresident to read glowing articles about Bernie Sanders to make myself feel better. Exiting the echo chamber is difficult. I still need to work on it.

My Media Diary and Me

Leave a Reply

