Facebook’s Liberal Bubble

The majority of the news articles I read comes from the news outlets I follow on Facebook, namely the New York Times, Washington Post, and Huffington Post (although I’m not sure you could categorize Huffington Post as a bona fide objective news source). I never really thought about whether these outlets had a particular bias until I googled it to write this post. I’ve come to find out that all three tend to be somewhat more consistently liberal than other news outlets, but I didn’t consciously choose to follow them on Facebook because of that.

I do believe that getting a lot of my media from Facebook does somewhat warp my sense of how others feel about particular issues. I tend to think that general consensus is more liberal than it tends to be. My community on Facebook is mainly made up of peers and younger generations who tend to be more liberal, especially so regarding social issues. Because the content I see on Facebook leans more to the left, I get a false sense that everyone in the country feels the same way. When the House of Representatives voted to defund Planned Parenthood earlier in September, I was shocked because I thought most U.S. citizens were pro-PP. It made me feel like the politicians and representatives in D.C. were so out of the touch with the American people. Then it dawned on me that I live in a little liberal bubble and that I project that bubble onto America as a whole instead of acknowledging the other points of view that exist.

Facebook’s Liberal Bubble

Leave a Reply

